The Community Rating System (CRS) is a voluntary program that communities can elect to be a part of if they participate in the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

While the NFIP focuses on new structures from flooding, the CRS focuses on additional measures to prevent new structures from flooding as well as programs to help prevent existing structures from flooding.

The CRS was created to provide an incentive-based program that encourages communities to adopt flood prevention measures beyond the minimum required by the NFIP.

Communities begin with a rating of 10 which offers no discount. By participating in certain activities, the community is eligible to lower their rating from 9 to 1. Each rating point that a community achieves results in a 5% discount in flood insurance for Special Flood Hazard Zones up to a 45% discount.

As an example, in 2016, the City of Houston maintained a CRS Class 5 rating.

There are numerous activities that a community can adopt, but each can fit into one of the 4 categories:

  • Public Information

  • Mapping and Regulations

  • Flood Damage Reduction

  • Warning and Response.

Want to learn more about your local communities involvement with the CRS?

Click here to read the official FEMA brochure: A Local Official’s Guide to Saving Lives, Preventing Property Damage, and Reducing the Cost of Flood Insurance.


The Community Rating System (CRS)